Press Release

THE CROWN: SEASON TWO (Soundtrack from the Netflix Original Series) Music by Rupert Gregson-Williams & Lorne Balfe

THE CROWN: SEASON TWO (Soundtrack from the Netflix Original Series)   Music by Rupert Gregson-Williams & Lorne Balfe

December 12th, 2017 (Toronto, Canada) – Sony Music proudly announces the release of The Crown: Season Two (Soundtrack from the Netflix Original Series), featuring music by Rupert Gregson-Williams & Lorne Balfe.

The soundtrack to the new season of the Netflix original series released on December 8th. Following the success of the first season, which was named Best Drama at the 2017 Golden Globes among the many honors it received,season two of The Crown will premiere globally on Friday, December 8, 2017, featuring 10 brand-new episodes. 


The award-winning series The Crown returns for a second season to continue the telling of the inside story of Queen Elizabeth II’s reign, as the fragile social order established after the Second World War breaks apart. Based on the award-winning play, The Audience, the series reunites creator/writer Peter Morgan (The Queen, Frost/Nixon) with director Stephen Daldry (Billy Elliot, The Hours) and producer Andy Harries (The Queen).

Beginning with soldiers in Her Majesty’s Armed Forces fighting an illegal war in Egypt, and ending with the downfall of her third Prime Minister, Harold Macmillan after a devastating scandal, the second season bears witness to the end of the age of deference, and ushers in the revolutionary era of the 1960s.

The Crown continues to chronicle the major political and global events that have defined and shaped the second half of the twentieth century – a series that is unprecedented in its scale, ambition and creative vision.

Directed by Stephen Daldry, Philip Martin, Phillipa Lowthorpe and Ben Caron, season two of The Crown is produced by Left Bank Pictures in association with Sony Pictures Television. Andy Harries, Peter Morgan, Stephen Daldry, Philip Martin and Suzanne Mackie serve as executive producers along with Robert Fox and Matthew Byam Shaw.



Rupert Gregson-Williams was born in England and educated at St. John’s College Choir School, Cambridge. The multi-award winning composer works from his studios in both London and Los Angeles.

A truly versatile composer, Gregson-Williams has written a wide range of scores for many feature films, including the Oscar-winning Hotel Rwanda for which he was awarded the European Film Award for Best Composer, the blockbuster DreamWorks animated films Over The Hedge and Jerry Seinfeld’s Bee Movie, for which Rupert was nominated for an Annie Award for his original score and the independent BBC Films’ Love + Hate, for which he was awarded the Reims International Composer Award.

Most recently, Gregson-Williams scored the blockbuster and critically acclaimed Wonder Woman directed by Patty Jenkins and starring Gal Gadot and Chris Pine; the award-winning war drama Hacksaw Ridge, starring Andrew Garfield and directed by Mel Gibson, and the international hit The Legend of Tarzan. His upcoming film projects include Terminal, starring Margot Robbie and written and directed by Vaughn Stein and for television TNT’s The Alienist starring Dakota Fanning, Luke Evans and Daniel Bruhl.

Gregson-Williams received an Emmy nomination this year for Outstanding Music Composition for a Series (Original Dramatic Score) for his work on the first season of The Crown. He has also composed the music for various other TV projects, including the Emmy-award winning HBO series Veep, AMC’s The Prisoner, and Sky Vision’s Agatha Raisin.  He received an Emmy nomination for the 2002 telefilm Jack and the Beanstalk: The Real Story, for Outstanding Music Composition for a Miniseries, Movie or a Special (Dramatic Underscore).

Gregson-Williams has had a long association with Adam Sandler and has composed the scores for many of his films over the past ten years.  Their collaborations include Click, Bedtime Stories, Grown Ups, Just Go with It, Here Comes the Boom, The Ridiculous 6, The Do-Over, and the recently released Sandy Wexler, starring Sandler and Kevin James and directed by Steven Brill. His other film credits include Winter’s Tale, directed by Akiva Goldsman; Zookeeper, starring Kevin James; Made of Honor, starring Patrick Dempsey; and Thunderpants, starring Stephen Fry. His commercial and film collaborations have included working with Ben Folds, Mark Knopfler, Hans Zimmer, Hadag Nahash, Lebo M., Junior Mambazo and Moya Brennan.

Lorne Balfe (The Lego Batman Movie, Churchill) is a Grammy Award-winning, EMMY and BAFTA nominated composer from Inverness, Scotland. He has scored in virtually all genres and in all visual media with projects ranging from major studio to independent films, tentpole video game franchises, beloved animated feature films, critically acclaimed television series, and documentary features.

Lorne Balfe recently received an Emmy-nomination for “Outstanding Main Title Theme” along with Hans Zimmer for Genius (National Geographic), the Ron Howard produced TV series about Albert Einstein. His most current film and TV credits include Churchill (Head Gear Films); The Lego Batman Movie (Warner Bros.); The Florida ProjectMarcella (Buccaneer Media); other credits include Terminator Genisys (Paramount Pictures); 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers Of Benghazi (Paramount Pictures). He also served as score producer for Dunkirk. His upcoming projects include the Dean Devlin sci-fi thriller Geostorm and Horse Soldiers (Warner Bros.)

Balfe’s big break came when he scored his first major feature film, Megamind, which he co-composed with Hans Zimmer.

Lorne Balfe continues to receive critical acclaim and accolades for his work in all visual media including the animated features Home and Penguins Of Madagascar, based on the beloved British TV series, The Sweeney, the historical epic Ironclad, the Gloria Trevi-biopic Gloria, acclaimed documentaries Manny (about the life of Manny Pacquiao), Salinger (about J. D. Salinger) and The Last Man On The Moon (about Apollo astronaut Gene Cernan). His television work includes the epic mini-series The Bible (co-composed with Hans Zimmer) and Sons Of Liberty. In 2012, Lorne Balfe earned his first EMMY nomination for the mini-series Restless.

The track list of THE CROWN: SEASON TWO (Soundtrack from the Netflix Original Series) is as follows:

  1. Bounden Duty
    2. Dismissed
    3. The Downfall
    4. Homesick
    5. Your Majesty
    6. Headlines
    7. Radio Speech
    8. Future King
    9. Christmas Message
    10. New Guinea Match
    11. We Shall Go To War
    12. Be My Portrait
    13. Philip’s Dream
    14. Princess Margaret
    15. Critical Article
    16. I Have No Choice
    17. A New Chapter
    18. Bring Him Home