Press Release


Album artwork for Rosalía's El Mal Querer


“This album was recorded with a love for tradition and the excitement for the future”. ROSALÍA

Rosalía releases today her brand new album El Mal Querer (Sony Music). Stream and download the album here. El Mal Querer is the Barcelona-born artist’s sophomore album, cowritten by herself and various collaborators, and coproduced together with Pablo Díaz-Reixa (El Guincho).  

El Mal Querer is my career final year project, and it has taken two years to develop. One of the driving forces behind the album is that I don’t believe there’s only one way to play flamenco music. El Mal Querer is flamenco as I understand it here and now.”

El Mal Querer, structured in chapters, tells the story of a toxic love relationship and the different stages, with highs and lows, the female protagonist goes through. This is a vocals-focused album which —together with the primal sounds of palmas (clapping) and pitos (finger snapping) mixed with electronic music and sampling— has helped Rosalía tell the story of “El Mal Querer” using her own personal language.

“Some Haikus remind me of a ‘quinteta de seguiriya’(flamenco style), and that makes me think that those living on the other side of the world might have been heartbroken as well as it may have happened to me, that’s why El Mal Querer is universal”. 

Both the cover artwork and the images identifying each chapter were created by the Spanish-Croatian artist/photographer/art director Filip Custic who has managed to accurately illustrate the emotional symbolism displayed on each of El Mal Querer’s chapters using a personal visual code.

Rosalía has unveiled two tracks (or chapters) off El Mal Querer: Released by the end of May, “Malamente (Cap.1:Augurio) has racked up over 50 million streams (audio and video) so far and has gone Double Platinum in Spain. Last July, she released Pienso En Tu Mirá (Cap.3: Celos), which now counts over 35 million streams on major streaming platforms and was Platinum-certified in Spain. On October 30, two days before the new album release, Rosalía released another album “card”: Di Mi Nombre (Cap.8: Extásis), together with its accompanying video directed by Henry Scholfield (Dua Lipa, AlunaGeorge) and shot last September in Los Angeles during Rosalía’s US tour.

“For me, producing means taking decisions,

and I don’t regret any of the choices I’ve made on this album”

Last September, The Latin Recording Academy announced the Latin Grammy nominations for this year. Rosalía received 5 nods in the following categories: Song of the Year, Recording of the Year, Best Music Video (short form), Best Alternative Song and Best Urban Fusion/Performance, being the most nominated female artist this 19th Latin Grammy Edition. Last year, she also received a Latin Grammy nomination as Best New Artist.   


(Written by Rosalía & Various Artists | Produced by Rosalía & El Guincho)
1 MALAMENTE (Cap.1: Augurio)
Antón Álvarez
2 QUE NO SALGA LA LUNA (Cap.2: Boda)
Las Negris, Nani Cortés, Lin Cortés, Los Mellis, Pablo Díaz-Reix, Juan Mateo
3 PIENSO EN TU MIRÁ (Cap.3: Celos)
Milagros & Los Mellis
4 DE AQUÍ NO SALES (Cap.4: Disputa)
5 RENIEGO (Cap.5: Lamento)
Jesús Bola
6 PRESO (Cap.6: Clausura)
Rossy de Palma
7 BAGDAD (Cap.7: Liturgia)
Cor de l’Orfeo Catalá & Joan Albert Armagós
8 DI MI NOMBRE (Cap.8: Éxtasis)
Las Negris, Los Mellis, Pablo Diaz-Reixa & Laura Boschetti
9 NANA (Cap.9: Concepción)
10 MALDICIÓN (Cap.10: Cordura)
11 A NINGÚN HOMBRE (Cap.11: Poder)